Page 1 of 194 1 2 3 11 51 101 ... LastLast

Thread: Successful Repair of s750 with Blown Fuse

Regular Contributor

Successful Repair of s750 with Blown Fuse

Well here goes my story. I bought my speakers about two months ago, they worked great, right up to the point they died. Sound familiar? We watched a movie, went to bed, got up the next morning and they wouldn't power up. Noticed the green power led was out, checked the fuse and it was bad. Replaced with new fuse and it blew. After reading all the posts of people sending the units in for repair, getting them back and still having problems with them it became obvious that although Creative was repairing them they weren't doing anything about the root cause. I'm an electronic engineer so I decided to void the warranty and try to repair it myself. From my view I didn't have anything to loose. A word of caution here. Unless you or someone you know has a good working knowledge of electronic circuits and how to troubleshoot them please do not attempt to repair this unit. It has voltages in the power supply upwards of 75v. If you touch these it will ruin your day and maybe permanently. Again don't underestimate the voltages or current in this unit or the large capacitors that can store a lethal charge. BE CAREFUL. I begin looking for damaged parts and found none. Then I took an ohm meter and looked for shorted parts in the power supply. I found a shorted MosFET and replaced it. That one blew also, with fireworks. I disconnected the amp boards and using the ohm meter begin comparing the two boards since there almost identical. I found a small yellow capacitor that sits by itself was a dead short to ground. Its across one of the power supply lines. I replaced it and the bad MosFET and now the unit works fine. Two changes I'm making are because the number one and number two enemies of electronic parts is HEAT and VIBRATION. There is virtually no ventilation for the heat the amp generates and it gets HOT. Also mounted in