Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ASIO Drivers for X-Fi Ple

  1. #1
    Trusted Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    64

    ASIO Drivers for X-Fi Please

    What's up with Asio drivers? X-fi is suppose to be the m lowest latency with 0% cpu load, and supposely "there is no other soundcard that is its competiti've". I have professional studio at home and day by day i'm geting sad for no good results. All i get is 35% cpu load with 5ms and static for vst instruments or vsti sound effects and sometimes the famous blue screen no mater what sequencer i'm using, cakewalk or steinber products. SB li've! Asio (35% cpu load 2ms latency) drivers works better than X-fi's system.

  2. #2
    Uber Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3,887

    Re: ASIO Drivers for X-Fi Please


    antsressb wrote:
    What's up with Asio drivers? X-fi is suppose to be the m lowest latency with 0% cpu load, and supposely "there is no other soundcard that is its competiti've". I have professional studio at home and day by day i'm geting sad for no good results. All i get is 35% cpu load with 5ms and static for vst instruments or vsti sound effects and sometimes the famous blue screen no mater what sequencer i'm using, cakewalk or steinber products. SB li've! Asio (35% cpu load 2ms latency) drivers works better than X-fi's system.
    Just couple of questions here -

    Are you using X-Fi and Li've! in same system?

    Which ASIO drivers are you using w/ Li've!?

    What for do you need ms (or even 2ms) latency? Recordin? Play/Mixing?

    How do you measure the true latency you have there?

    How do you measure the CPU usage affected by ASIO driver itself?

    Are you working w/ same resolution (bit-depth and SR) w/ both mentioned cards when comared the performance?

    How powerful PC you have there (this affects most on performance w/ low latency settings).

    What kind of projects are you running (track-count/number of effects/used virtual instruments/resolution/etc.)?

    http://forums.creative.com/creativelabs/board/message?board.id=profaudio&message.id=36

    jutapaMessage Edited by jutapa on 0-4-2006 :2 AM

  3. #3
    Trusted Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    64

    Re: ASIO Drivers for X-Fi Please


    st, I was using x-fi but i went back to sb li've. Every time that there is an update i remove sb li've and go back to x-fi, so rightnow sb li've is running and x-fi is in its box.

    2nd when I install sb li've i install its asio drivers and i start updating it (same to x-fi's).

    3rd I use low latency for recording, mixing, and playing vsti or dxi instruments http://forums.creative.com/creativel...ssage.id=76232 please read my last post.

    4th Cakewalk sonar 5 has a cpu meter on the bottom rightand it says how much cpu performance is using. Same with cubase 4.

    5th Yes i use the same bit-depht on both cards. 24bits.

    6th My pc is: asus p4p800-e deluxe -Pentium 4 3.2g mb cache with HT. -g memory -Windows XP HE -nvidia gforce 28mb, nothing else and almost all onboard stuff is disable.

    7th i will say 2 vsti instruments, at least 4 effects, and 5 stereo wav files. Video, 6bit resolution with two 024 x 768 monitors.


    Message Edited by antsressb on 0--2006 0:6 PM

  4. #4
    Uber Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3,887

    Re: ASIO Drivers for X-Fi Please

    antsressb wrote:

    st, I was using x-fi but i went back to sb li've. Every time that there is an update i remove sb li've and go back to x-fi, so rightnow sb li've is running and x-fi is in its box.

    2nd when I install sb li've i install its asio drivers and i start updating it (same to x-fi's).

    3rd I use low latency for recording, mixing, and playing vsti or dxi instruments http://forums.creative.com/creativel...ssage.id=76232 please read my last post.

    4th Cakewalk sonar 5 has a cpu meter on the bottom rightand it says how much cpu performance is using. Same with cubase 4.

    5th Yes i use the same bit-depht on both cards. 24bits.

    6th My pc is: asus p4p800-e deluxe
    -Pentium 4 3.2g mb cache with HT.
    -g memory
    -Windows XP HE
    -nvidia gforce 28mb, nothing else and almost all onboard stuff is disable.

    7th i will say 2 vsti instruments, at least 4 effects, and 5 stereo wav files. Video, 6bit resolution with two 024 x 768 monitors.



    Message Edited by antsressb on 0--2006 0:6 PM
    ... may I ask,

    - which SB Li've! (and are you using Creative ASIO w/ it)? --> are there 'nati've' ASIO capable 24-bit Li've! cards available
    - which samplerate are you using (both cards)?

    Also, you need low latency (~4-7ms, though some players can tell the difference b/w these two) only when recording w/ software monitoring enabled (eg. so you hear the VSTi output in sync w/ playing).

    Mixing/playback can be done w/ much higher settings (I use normally 40-00 ms (depending on project)). --> bigger buffer secures the quality.

    jutapaMessage Edited by jutapa on 0-2-2006 2:40 PM

  5. #5
    Trusted Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    64

    Re: ASIO Drivers for X-Fi Please

    i'm using x-fi creatives asio drivers at 24 bit sample rate. and yes 4-7ms works a bit fine but, like i said before, "is a little hard to play a vst instrument when the latency is delayed". So this is telling me that what its says on x-fis box and the internet is not true. here is an example, and read where it says "Lowest Latency, Most Precise ASIO Recording!' part.
    http://www.soundblaster.com/products/x-fi/technology/audiocreation/ And please letme know if i'm wrong.

  6. #6
    Uber Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3,887

    Re: ASIO Drivers for X-Fi Please


    antsressb wrote:
    i'm using x-fi creatives asio drivers at 24 bit sample rate. and yes 4-7ms works a bit fine but, like i said before, "is a little hard to play a vst instrument when the latency is delayed". So this is telling me that what its says on x-fis box and the internet is not true. here is an example, and read where it says "Lowest Latency, Most Precise ASIO Recording!' part.
    http://www.soundblaster.com/products/x-fi/technology/audiocreation/ And please letme know if i'm wrong.
    IMO, it's starting to sound like only a setting/(lots of) misunderstanding issue you have there (you're not familiar w/ your software/card/technology). Also 24-bit is not samplerate but bit-depth.

    Also,

    - do you mean, you use X-Fi ASIO driver @ 24-bit w/ both cards?

    - you still didn't mention which Li've! card are you compared the X-Fi performance and what samplerate are you using w/ both cards (44.kHz, 48kHz or 96kHz). Also, none of Li've! cards works w/ ASIO set to 24-bit (if w/ ASIO at all).

    - latency/CPU usage is more dependent on other factors than driver itself

    - if you can tell the difference bw 2 and 4 ms, I think you can contact Guinness

    - are you good enough player to play keeping the playing precise enough ... lets say inside 2ms (IMO, there are not many tese players available)?

    - have you read already,

    The Truth About Latency: Part
    The Truth About Latency: Part 2
    Gigging Safely With A PC
    DSP-assisted Audio Effects & Latency
    Optimising The Latency Of Your PC Audio Interface

    About MIDI Latency
    - http://www.thewhippinpost.co.uk/latency.htm
    - http://www.audiomidi.com/classroom/midi/midi_latency.cfm

    Also;

    MIDI keyboard internal response to keystroke -- this is not instantaneous but on a good keyboard should be under msec or so

    MIDI transport latency
    - If you're using MIDI cables, this is msec per note in the chord, before the last note in the chord sounds. In other words, for a 6-note chord, the first note is delayed by msec, the second by 2, etc., to the 6th note that is delayed by 6 msec.
    - If you're using MIDI over a high-speed technology like USB, Firewire, or mLAN, there is still transmission latency but the per-note effect is far, far lower -- probably not measurable.

    There is also one more MIDI issue discuissed @ Cubase Forums (though, maybe not your issue).

    Some testings regarding latency/CPU usage relation:

    http://forum.cakewalk.com/tm.asp?m=34827
    http://forum.cakewalk.com/tm.asp?m=84775
    http://www.adkproaudio.com/benchmarks.cfm

    If you like, you find thise test files from Cubase/Cakewalk forums.

    jutapaMessage Edited by jutapa on 0-4-2006 :7 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •