Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Static, crackles, pops and dragging audio in Windows 7 64bit

  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    45

    Static, crackles, pops and dragging audio in Windows 7 64bit

    <'sHey guys

    I`ve just installed Windows 64 bit and im facing static, crackles, dragging audio, while im listening to music , or even watching a movie(in window mode) and at the same time im browsing the?internet, scrolling?up and?down. etc facebook page.

    The think is , its not the sound card(i have X-FI Elite PRO)?because , i`ve tried also the onboard and still the same problem. I`ve seen this problem to many forums but no answers that are fixing the problem.

    The sound is terrible.

    Anyway , please help.

    Thank you

    ?CPU :?Intel Core 2 Extreme quad-core QX9650 @ 3.0GHz
    MOBO : ASUS MAXIMUS EXTREME
    RAM : 4GB DDR3 @ 333 MHZ
    HDD : RAID 0
    SOUND CARD : X-FI ELITE PRO and SupremeFX II Audio Card
    GFX CARD: NVIDIA GTX 580
    PSU : 000 WATT
    WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64BIT

  2. #2
    Trusted Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    233

    Re: Static, crackles, pops and dragging audio in Windows 7 64bit

    @I'd try using the newest drivers for it or one of the daniel's or robert's modded drivers. If that doesn't work try switching pci slots. Is there any reason why you have both sound cards installed? You should probably remove the onboard card and disable it in bios.

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    45

    Re: Static, crackles, pops and dragging audio in Windows 7 64bit7

    Hi pmc64

    Thanks for replying back

    Let me clarify a few things how i did the whole procedure.

    . i`ve made a clean format - install windows
    2. Installed only the X-FI card ( onboard card was disabled in bios).
    3. The problem was there with the XFI so...
    4. I have disabled the XFI and installed-enabled the onboard card.
    5. Same problem there with the onboard.
    6. Conclusion : Its not the XFI that is making the problem.

    Is that correct?

    Thank you again.

  4. #4
    Trusted Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    233

    Re: Static, crackles, pops and dragging audio in Windows 7 64bitI

    i'd say you're correct but that doesn't really solve your problem.

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    45

    Re: Static, crackles, pops and dragging audio in Windows 7 64bit

    Any other ideas ?

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    45

    Re: Static, crackles, pops and dragging audio in Windows 7 64bit?

    @Here is a sample from my sound ...

    http://rapidshare.com/files/43692283...2-4_9-59-4.wma

    ?
    While i was surfing in Facebook , scrolling up and down.

    ?

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    45

    Re: Static, crackles, pops and dragging audio in Windows 7 64bit)

    Any suggestions guys ? Please help

  8. #8
    Trusted Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    233

    Re: Static, crackles, pops and dragging audio in Windows 7 64bit'

    Try a external sound card maybe?

  9. #9
    Trusted Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    114

    Re: Static, crackles, pops and dragging audio in Windows 7 64bitH

    Hi,

    Are you using a software that's called "AI Suit"? (Asus own overclock tool). If this is the case disable it or if that does not work, then uninstall the software and see if it hel


    ps.
    Otherwise clear cmos (see the instruction in your motherboard's manual) and load the default settings for the bios for the time-being, boot into Windows and see/hear if there is still popping/crackling sound. Also try to update the motherboard with the newest the bios, maybe it will help.

    ?
    Hope this works for you,

    Good luck!

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    45

    Re: Static, crackles, pops and dragging audio in Windows 7 64bit?

    Hi there

    I didnt install AI Suit. Will try with the bios reset. (No update available - I have the latest)

    I will let you know the results

    Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •