Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Soundfont Static on X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Win7 x64

  1. #1
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    15

    8Soundfont Static on X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Win7 x64.

    I have an X-Fi Titanium Fatalty Pro running on Win7 Ultimate x64, Asus P7P55D Pro motherboard, Nvidia 9600GT, 4 GB RAM, no DPC Latency issues, and when I load a largish soundfont, e.g. 25 MB in size, I get horrible static that sounds like a machine gun the first time a note is played. After playing the note once, it seems to work fine. This happens with most every note. For example, if I load a high quality steel string guitar soundfont, every key I hit on the Soundfont Bank Manager's keyboard suffers from the static the first time it's hit. Afterwards, it's fine. The same thing happens in other programs that use MIDI that I configure to use the "SB X-FI Synth"; they start off with terrible static, and they get better as they play more and more notes. Any idea how to fix this?
    Last edited by Loi-XCL-; 11-10-2011 at 07:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    15

    Re: Soundfont Static on X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Win7 x64

    As a workaround, I found I could start taking advantage of my PC's ability to reliably enter and resume from sleep, a feature I've never used on a desktop PC. However, to get it to sleep automatically, I had to use "powercfg -requestsoverride" to override the X-Fi's continuous request to prevent the computer from idling to sleep. I've noticed my onboard audio driver enters a request only when playing something, deleting it when finished. The request is always there for the X-Fi. Anyway, this seems to preserve the MIDI state so that the sounds are not distorted when I resume. It's weird, because looking at disk I/O in Sysinternals Process Monitor, the driver loads the soundfont all at once, and playing notes incurs no I/O. Maybe it's dynamically decompressing the already-loaded data or otherwise massaging it when a note is first played, and large samples are causing it to distort?
    Last edited by Loi-XCL-; 11-10-2011 at 07:38 PM.

  3. #3
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    15

    Re: Soundfont Static on X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Win7 x64C

    Anyone?

    Are soundfonts just dead technology?


  4. #4
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    15

    Re: Soundfont Static on X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Win7 x6

    I ended up dumping the X-Fi and using free software like Synthfont and LoopBe.


  5. #5
    Trusted Contributor squall_leonhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    213

    Re: Soundfont Static on X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Win7 x64

    well known issue, feel free to try the new Bassmididrv which is superior to synthfont,

  6. #6

    Re: Soundfont Static on X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Win7 x64

    Thanks squall_leonhart for responding to these old soundfont issues left unresolved by the developers.. I am also having this problem on Win 7/64 with my X-Fi Titanium. Any advice for fixing it -- besides switching to soft synths?
    If it's a "known issue" (thanks to the pathetic state of the MIDI/soundfont drivers for this card), perhaps there is a known workaround for it.. ?

  7. #7
    Trusted Contributor squall_leonhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    213

    Re: Soundfont Static on X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Win7 x64

    theres no known workarounds, a moderator here has been in touch with an older, and no longer existing thread where the issue was reported but no further contact was made on creatives front.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •